Who?

As of last week, I can officially remove the halter of geek shame that has burdened me for too long. I have now watched not one, but two whole episodes of Doctor Who. Not that I’ve ever been completely ignorant of the Doctor. We’ve crossed paths on Tumblr, I know what the TARDIS is, I have a dalek in my backyard (disguised as a hand-carved garden decoration from the previous homeowners) and have scammed stickers from GetGlue during the Day of the Doctor. But up until now, I’ve been too daunted by all the episodes and Doctors available. Where would I begin?

Thankfully, a friend who recently began a Doctor marathon to remove his own mantle of shame came to my rescue with season 3’s Blink.” I loved it, though not blindly so. There were a lot of questionable goings on and I, personally, would have resolved the whole problem with a sledgehammer. But the holes, while noticeable, did not take away from the episode as a whole. The weeping angels were sufficiently creepy (though I will have less waking nightmare issues with statues than I do with Joe Carroll’s followers) and more importantly, the touching moments were indeed touching. The last thing I expected from watching Doctor Who was to be moved to tears, but… you had me at “I have until the rain stops…”

“One may tolerate a world of demons
for the sake of an angel.”

“Blink” was very good, but then my friend Simon directed me to The Girl in the Fireplace – the episode he usually uses to hook people on the Doctor. If I was teetering on the edge before, this episode flung me right over. Not surprising that it won awards. It so beautifully summed up the show’s concepts and the Doctor himself through his repeated encounters with Madame de Pompadour and set off so many thoughts in my head (and caused me to spam Twitter with all the wonderful quotes – greetings, new followers!).

Because. Time.

The major reason why I love the Terminator saga is because of how it toys with time and destiny. The past and the future are intrinsically intertwined. Inseparable. If something is meant to happen, attempting to alter or stop it by changing the past just results in a modification of when and how the event occurs in the future. And John Connor cannot exist without Skynet, anymore than Skynet can exist without John Connor. A most confounding chicken and egg scenario that I’ve always pictured as something more like a snake biting its own tail, though even this view of time is still too two-dimensional. There are lines, but, they are all over the place and the Doctor is able to travel them all, affecting events as he sees fit in hopes of doing good as he goes against the Time Lords’ non-interference policy. But what if his interference is exactly what creates the events in the first place?

“It’s the way it’s always been – the monsters and the Doctor. It seems you can’t have one without the other” ~The Girl in the Fireplace

 Thus did my  mind wander off into various timey whimey directions thanks to the Doctor, which can only mean that I must watch more in order to appease this quest for understanding. Doctor Who is cheesy science fiction – the kind I have been content to overlook all this time. Yet, now that I have watched it, I love that they have maintained that old school vibe. Clearly, the show doesn’t take itself too seriously as a consequence.

Or does it…?

One thought on “Who?

  1. Pingback: The Doctor’s Darkness | Maybe Tomorrow

Leave a Reply

