The BiblioSanctum: Armageddon’s Children by Terry Brooks

Armageddon's Children (Genesis of Shannara, #1)Armageddon’s Children by Terry Brooks

Many years ago, I tried to read The Sword of Shannara but the story and characters failed to capture my attention and I set it aside. I grant that I didn’t get very far into the book, but I had read enough by that time to know when a book just isn’t working for me, even that early on. Fastforward to the present and my brother is on the phone raving about the new Genesis of Shannara series. I trust his judgement, so here I am!

The Genesis of Shannara is, as the series title suggests, the beginnings of the world created by Terry Brooks. Shannara fans are likely to recognize characters, events and artifacts, but someone new to the series like myself, is by no means alienated. This is a clean introduction to this realm, and an introduction to the characters whom we will, presumably, be following through the series. Armageddon’s Children takes place in a post-apocalyptic earth, destroyed by the follies of man. Violence and mutation have reduced the human population to mere thousands. Many of the surviving humans live in compounds, some hide in ruined cities, but all are hunted by the various demonic (formerly human) creatures led by the “Old Man” at the bidding of the Void. We meet Logan Tom first, as he and his family attempt to escape an attack by once men and demons. Logan is orphaned in the process.

Leave a Reply

