Congratulations, Robbie

There was a big stupid smile on my face when the radio reported that Roberto “Catch de taste” Alomar was going to be inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame. It was bigger and stupider when they announced that he would be inducted as a Blue Jay, with the Jays retiring his No. 12 in his honour.

Okay, so I had a little bit of a crush on him, in case that wasn’t obvious.

But it’s not just that that made me smile.

I used to love baseball. Or rather, I loved the Blue Jays. Remember the WAC Team? My love has been captured in 4 years worth of newspaper clippings in a scrapbook, and in case you think I’m a bandwagoner, this was before scrapbooking was “cool” and before the Jays won the pennant, and then went on to win Back-to-Back World Series Championships.

I went to Blue Jay games before they were at the Skydome, which isn’t even called the Skydome anymore. Ye gods. That’s 20 years ago….

Posted in Uncategorized

One thought on “Congratulations, Robbie

Leave a Reply

